Busted – November 12th, 2000

It’s 9pm as I write this because I’ve been sleeping for the past 4 hours.

Last night was IN-SANE. Even for me the risk that I took was big.

My parents had plans to go out to town last night, and have some drinks with their friends. My sister was off to her friends house, so I was meant to have Chels stay with me here, but for obvious reasons I called that off.

Mum asked what I was going to do, and I don’t know where it came from but I just blerted out that I was going to Chels’ house instead. I said her dad was going to come by and pick me up.

As soon as I said it, I regretted it. My hands got sweaty just thinking about what if she called her house to see if I was lying? What if she insisted that she was going to pick me up in the morning? FUCK!

It was too late to back out then, what was I going to do? I was just praying that they both got:
A) Too drunk before they left to care where I was going
B) Were too hungover the next day to want to pick me up

As it happens, they did end up drinking before they left (thankgodthankgodthankgod!)

Mum looked really pretty actually, and when she asked dad how she looked he just said, “Okay”. He can be such a dick! I don’t know why she’s married to him. I hope she gets hit on in front of him, that’ll teach him!

She had 3 glasses of wine and he had about 5 beers. Then their friends came over. Then they had another drink.

I was watching the clock thinking, “GO GO GO GO GO”.

Finally, their taxi van arrived and they left.

Almost straight away I picked up the phone, dialed Shane’s number, and told him to come and get me.

I quickly brushed my hair, rubbed some coconut oil into my skin (Lissy told me coconut oil is sexy! Who knows?) I put on my sweater dress because I knew it would stil be kind of cold.

Then I heard his car.

Right when he got to the door, I swung it open and kissed him. He lifted me up a bit. I noticed his hair is GREEN now. It looks awesome.

I was really nervous that the taxi was going to turn around because someone forgot something. My heart was in my throat.

I picked up my backpack, it had a few things back for over night. Shane looked at the bag, then looked at me and said, “Really?” With a huge grin. I can’t believe that I did that to be honest. I just really hope I don’t get snapped eventually. Mums have a gift at finding things out.

In the car, he kept looking over at me and smiling. We sang along to Orgy. I said that maybe we shouldn’t tell out friends, because they would try to get involved. He agreed.

When we got to the party we had to act like nothing was different. It was SO MUCH HARDER than I thought it would be.

We get there, and James had made me this crazy looking drink in a big glass with 2 umbrellas in it. He’d made all the girls those drinks. I took a sip and was almost blown away by how much alcohol was in it. He’s not good at making up drinks.

Almost as soon as I got there, Lissy and Teesh grabbed me by my arms into the corner. This always happens. Them and me just getting drunk together and gossiping in a corner somewhere. Until they start kissing, and then I’m the third wheel.

They are so funny. Teesh made Lissy corn braid her hair. Corn braids are not something that I think is pretty, but I wasn’t about to say that to her.

Even though my drink was gross I kept sipping until I was at the bottom of my glass. I took it up to the kitchen and jingled the ice at James for him to fill my glass up. He did. This time I pointed to how much rum I wanted, and how much coke. Just to be on the safe side, hah hah.

Me and a few of the girls got up then and were dancing to Rage Against The Machine. Then the guys joined in. Then they got too out of control and James swore at everybody to calm down in case something broke.

I kept looking over at Shane for the whole hour, and he’d look back at me across the room, and we’d both smile. I heard James ask him what was up, why did we keep looking at eachother? And he said, “Nothing, we just had a joke in the car”. And then winked at me.

The girl came in then, the one that Shane had something with a few parties ago. He didn’t even look at her, and she looked a little bit upset when she smiled in his direction and he barely saw. I felt a bit sorry for her to be honest.

I finished my drink and went and got another, and went and spoke to James, Scotty and Shane in the kitchen. They were seeing who could skull a beer the quickest.

I had my hand down by my side, and Shane touched it with his fingers when nobody was looking at me.

That was when I snuck off to one of the rooms down the hall. I brushed my hair again. Then Shane walked in.

He walked over to me, put my face in his hands and kissed me. He said it was too hard not to kiss me the whole time, that he kept looking at me all night and had just wanted to.

We kissed for a while, until we heard banging on the ceiling. When I looked up, there was James, there was Scotty, there was Lissy, there was Dane… all looking down at us through the skylight. They actually CLIMBED ONTO THE ROOF to see! When we looked up we knew we had been caught out. My mouth was wide open.

Then they all screamed, “oooOOOOOOooooH!” Ah, I’ve never blushed so much.

I’m so tired now, I’ll write the rest tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

