Pulling a Sickie – November 17th, 2000

This morning so far is going perfectly. I didn’t even have to really lie because I DID have a headache from lack of sleep from the past 2 days. I woke my mum up at about 5:30am and begged her for some pain killers. Strong ones. Groggily, she got up and gave me some of her tablets from under her bathroom sink.

I didn’t take them.

At 6am, I woke her up again and told her that my head was still really bad. She told me to try and get some sleep.

I kept my eyes wide open until she came to get me out of bed at 6:45am. When she came into the room she walked in to find me wide awake, looking a bit sick, with a cold flannel on my head.

“Oh, you’re looking ill love. I think it’s best if you stay home today”.

YES FUCKING YES!

I stayed in bed while they were all getting ready, lying there in the same position. She brought me in a cup of milky tea and asked if I wanted the TV on. I said no, that it would just make the headache worse.

And when I heard dad’s van leave, and mum’s car follow him up the driveway, my heart leapt!

mylameteenagediary.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

