My So Called “Birthday Party” – November 19th, 2000

Woke up yesterday, wishing I could relive the whole of Friday and not have to do whatever I have planned for my birthday. But here I am.

Had an email from that guy Damian at the bus stop. He’s so weird. He’s been writing to me about his school life and all kinds of strange random things that mean nothing. I think he’s trying to be obscure so that I’ll like him. I have him Chels’ email. It’s about time she had a love life.

Last night me and Chels met a guy called Joe online. He’s kind of sweet, I guess. We met him on ICQ when we were killing some time.

He kept messaging us to get his phone number out of his info and give him a call. Who even has their phone number in their info anyway? You’d have to be pretty laid back about being stalked.

We’re not weirdos I swear, but we called him anyway, and he turned out to be a really funny guy. He was making us laugh the whole night.

He was singing down the phone to us, “7 Days” by Craig David. It was really funny. But wow, he can sing. Chels was giving me eyes while he was singing to us. She’s too romantic for her own good.

I would have sung too, but you know, I only do musicals in person.

After we got off the phone we were sitting in the lounge with my sister and her friend. (My parents had made a swift exit for the weekend to go drinking at their local again, surprise surprise). I was drinking a coke, I must have had 3 glasses. Wishing that there was rum in it so I could have a proper party.

We had the music up loud, listening to Queen, who I don’t even really like by the way, but Chel does. We got kind of hyperactive (must have been all the chocolate), and did our own rendition of “Bohemian Rhapsody”. It was pretty funny when we got to the, “So you think you can stone me and spit in my eye” part, because we both stood up and started moshing in the lounge. I accidentally smashed over one of mum’s ornaments. My sister was on the floor in hysterics.

She helped me pick up all the smashed pieces, then I went and hid it under a rock in the garden. I really hope she doesn’t notice.

It was kind of a funny night. It was good hanging out with my sister for a change. When she’s not being a brat she’s really fun to be around… But she’s mostly just a brat.

I’ve been thinking about what it would be like to leave her behind, when I run away. I think it would be sad. I’d miss her so much, even though she annoys me. And I know she’ll cry, and that would really upset me. I wouldn’t want her to be sad.

Right now, Chels is in a shitty with me because I’m choosing to write in this book instead of talking to her.

She’s made me angry because she said I should be at the next social because it would be the last one that me and George will have together. Like I care about George anymore, he’s the last thing I’m thinking of right now. It’s like she thinks that we had some kind of great romance. We didn’t. I know that now.

There she goes again, sticking her nose into my business. Why can’t she get it through her thick head that me and him just aren’t an item anymore? We never really were, I was just kidding myself.

On the upside (or downside, depending on how you look at it), I’ve been going around singing, “My darling I, can’t get enough of your love, babe”, by Barry White. Thinking of Shane. Because apparently I’m that lame now.

I can’t wait to leave here. Happy birthday to me.

mylameteenagediary.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

